Did Sergio Romo just get DFA’d by accident?
From Andrew Baggarly’s blog:
I’m told that Romo was still on revocable trade waivers when the Giants optioned him, which is not allowed. Therefore, he was designated for assignment. I’m told that trade waivers supercede in this case…so it’s a bit tangled. Will the Giants lose Romo, an arm they value, for nothing? I’ll find out.
To potentially lose a valuable bullpen arm because you don’t understand how the waiver-wire system works, is just amazing. How long have you been a GM?
If Romo is lost to the waivers, this will be truly amazing. I will be angry. Updates to follow.
A little explanation on Romo: The Giants probably put him on revocable waivers because a potential trade partner was interested in him. Or they wanted t ogauge the general the level of interest. No matter the reason, you cannot option someone when they are on revocable waivers. (I’m up on most roster rules, but that’s a new one for me.)
Anyway, and this is the important part, the Giants insist the oversight will not result in losing Romo to another club. When you designate a player, you take them off your 40-man roster and have 10 days to waive, release or outright him. Before those 10 days are up, the Giants will revoke Romo off waivers be able to option him at that point. He’ll remain on the 40-man roster. Romo said he expects to join Fresno in Salt Lake on Friday.
Next: The Giants accidentally sell Tim Lincecum’s rights to Japan!